Taylor Swift Albums Ranked


I will be ranking these albums in two ways. The first being how much I personally like the albums. The second one is data-based.

To rank these albums, I calculated the percent of songs that I don’t skip on the album. The more songs I don’t skip, the higher the ranking.

I love Taylor Swift, and I truly think that there’s no bad song in her discography. Taking deep dives into individual albums depending on my mood is probably my main hobby.

So, without further ado, here are my Taylor Swift Albums ranked!

Personal Ranking

1: Reputation

This will forever be my most favorite era of hers. The sound in this album is right up my alley. Not only that, I believe that the tracklist sequence is the best one out of all 10 of her albums. Starting with “…Ready For It?” and ending with “New Year’s Day” is just so genius of her. It really accentuates the core message of the album, which is finding love when times are dire. This is why Reputation deserves #1 on this list.

2: 1989

If you couldn’t tell already, I am a fan of her pop work more than her country work. 1989 was a major hit. I love it. Every song on this album is the epitome of pop. This genre switch worked in Swift’s favor, because she really does have a skill in writing pop. Absolute bangers such as “New Romantics” and “Wildest Dreams” are exactly why 1989 scores this high.

3: folklore

I’ll admit it, when folklore came out, I wasn’t immediately attracted to it. But after a while, all of these songs grew on me. While the alternative style is new with this album, each song demonstrates Taylor Swift’s absolute talent in writing these songs. My personal lyrical favorites being, “my tears ricochet” and “the last great american dynasty”. folklore is a masterpiece of an album that really speaks to the listener.

4. Midnights

When Taylor announced Midnights at the 2022 VMAs, I was so excited. After writing two alternative albums, it seemed that she was switching back to the pop genre. The songs on this album are very experimental. But yet, each song shows the amazing lyricism each song has. Not only that, this album score in my top five because I truly never get bored of every song. Songs such as “Lavender Haze” and “You’re On Your Own Kid” are songs that reflect off of her own personal life, and they each have their own sound to it.

5. Speak Now

Speak Now is known for its fun and romantic feel, and each song truly captures what it feels like to be young, naive, and in love. With songs like “Haunted” and “I Can See You”, Speak Now is an album that is a reflection of Taylor herself, and a connection to listeners themselves. What makes this album even more impressive is that Taylor herself wrote every single song herself. If that doesn’t drive home a point, I don’t know what does.

6. Lover

Lover is one of those albums that you could just listen to at any point in your life. It covers loss, love, freedom, and happiness. This is an album that showcases Swift’s remarkable ability to put indescribable feelings into words. Songs like “Cornelia Street” and “Cruel Summer” are constantly circulating in my playlists. Its a fun, bright, unicorn-like era that will never fail to make the listener feel *something*.

7. Red

Red is an album full of pop-sounding songs, but it also has its fair share of the iconic Taylor Swift ballads and love songs. The reason why Red ranks pretty low is because I don’t listen to this album as much as others. But don’t get me wrong, songs such as “All Too Well (Ten Minute Version)” and “The Last Time” are in my top rankings of songs.

8. evermore

evermore is always considered the “forgotten album”. This album, although the lyrics are absolute gold, sonically, I don’t love it. But songs like “gold rush” and “no body, no crime” are still great songs that I would listen to.

9. Fearless

Fearless is the most awarded country album of all time. This album is amazing, but I don’t like her country work as much as her pop work. When it comes to song choices, though, I still would always drop everything to listen to “Mr. Perfectly Fine” and “Come In With The Rain”.

10. Taylor Swift

Her debut is well, her debut. It’s a remarkable album, but compared to the rest of her discography, it cannot compare. Songs like “Should’ve Said No” and “The Outside” are still going to be listened to.

Come back next week for a statistical ranking!!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started